News & Updates

IMI’s Dr. Moore, a National Medicaid Leader, Joins the Ranks of Women of Impact

April 1, 2019

IMI’s Dr. Moore, a National Medicaid Leader, Joins the Ranks of Women of Impact


The Board of Women of Impact announced today the addition of 23 new leaders to the organization, a move that increases their ranks to 65 women in leadership roles in healthcare.

Among the new members is Dr. Jennifer E. Moore, founding executive director of the Institute for Medicaid Innovation, who is an internationally recognized leader in Medicaid and maternal child health. With more than 20 years of experience, her work, at the intersection of clinical practice, research, and policy, positions her as a thought leader and a passionate advocate for vulnerable populations. This multifaceted emphasis makes her a respected participant in the national dialogue on these and other health care topics.

Women of Impact strengthen women in health care, helping them envision greater leadership roles and providing a network to support and advise them. Their focus on increasing the number of women executives in healthcare is achieved by developing and collaborating with other female-led networks that grow and support women leaders. Joanne Conroy, M.D., president of Women of Impact and CEO & President of Dartmouth-Hitchcock Health, said, “We are very pleased that Dr. Moore has agreed to become a member of Women of Impact. She joins an incredibly talented, diverse, and committed cohort who will drive positive change in health care.” 

Women of Impact was formed in 2013 around a shared goal of realigning the health care system to meet the needs of all Americans, recognizing that the people who need care come from all walks of life. They also agreed on a non-partisan case for change that zeroed in on critical concerns prominent in the national conversation.

Women selected for membership are identified and selected because of their influence and commitment to making a long-term difference. Prior to acceptance, all participants are interviewed to determine their commitment to the process, as well as their commitment to creating a measurable impact. Membership is by invitation because their mission is not about size but rather it is about creating a group that can both support one another and together, in collaboration, effect real change in health care.

The other new WOI members are: 

  • Helen Burstin, MD, MPH, FACP. Council of Medical Specialty Societies
  • Alice Chen, MD, MPH. San Francisco Health Network and University of California, San Francisco
  • Bergitta Cotroneo, FACMPE. Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine
  • Susan Dentzer. Robert J. Margolis Center for Health Policy at Duke University
  • Terry Fulmer, PhD, RN, FAAN. The John A. Hartford Foundation
  • Nadine Gracia, MD, MSCE. Trust for America's Health
  • Romana Hasnain Wynia, MS, PhD. Denver Health
  • Kathy Hudson, PhD. People Centered Research Foundation
  • Ann Hwang, MD. Community Catalyst
  • Jean Kutner, MD, MPH/MSPH, FAAHPM, FACP. University of Colorado Hospital
  • Fawn Lopez. Modern Healthcare
  • Pat Maryland, DrPH. Acension Healthcare
  • Bernadette Melnyk, PhD, RN, CRNP, PMHNP, FAANP, FNA, FAAN. College of Nursing at Ohio State University
  • Dianne Morrison-Beedy, PhD, RN, WHNP-BC, FNAP, FAANP, FAAN. College of Nursing at Ohio State University
  • Sharon O'Keefe, MSN. University of Chicago Medical Center
  • Molly O'Neill, MS. Medforth Global Healthcare Education Group
  • Claire Pomeroy, MD, MBA. The Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation
  • Elena Rios, MD, MSPH, FACP. National Hispanic Medical Society
  • Pat Roberts, MD, FACS, FASCRS. Lahey Hospital and Medical Center
  • Pamela Sutton-Wallace. University of Virginia Medical Center
  • Patricia L. Turner, MD, FACS. American College of Surgeons
  • Annette Walker, MHA. City of Hope, Orange County
  • Ruth Williams-Brinkley, MS. Kaiser Health Plan and Hospital of the Northwest

For experienced women in health care, this is a time to begin to do things with purpose and for a purpose.

For more information, please visit


Media Contact:

Lydia Tonkonow