News & Updates

IMI’s Dr. Moore Selected for NASEM Ad Hoc Committee

April 3, 2019

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, formerly the Institute of Medicine, announced the selection of a distinguished group of national experts to serve on an ad hoc committee on drug development and patient access.

Among the new members is Dr. Jennifer E. Moore, founding executive director of the Institute for Medicaid Innovation, who is an internationally recognized leader in Medicaid and maternal child health. With more than 20 years of experience, her work, at the intersection of clinical practice, research, and policy, positions her as a thought leader and a passionate advocate for vulnerable populations. This multifaceted emphasis makes her a respected participant in the national dialogue on these and other health care topics.

The new ad hoc committee is charged with researching and presenting information as part of a 1 ½ day public workshop, “The Role of NIH in Drug Development Innovation and its Impact on Patient Access,” on the following topics:

  • how federal funding for biomedical research, particularly via the National Institutes of Health (NIH), has contributed to new drug development, both directly and indirectly;
  • the pricing of drugs that have benefited from federal investments in biomedical science;
  • the role of technology and patent transfer to and from entrepreneurial organizations associated with NIH-funded research;
  • potential ways to better track, quantify, and document NIH contributions to innovation in drug development; and
  • potential strategies and polices to facilitate the translation of federally-funded biomedical research into innovations in drug development and to help ensure that the public has affordable access to those innovative medicines.

As part of the committee, the members will develop the workshop agenda, select and invite subject matter experts and discussants, and moderate the discussions. 

The other members include:

JEFF BINGAMAN (Chair), Former U.S. Senator, New Mexico

AMITABH CHANDRA, Ethel Zimmerman Wiener Professor of Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School of Government; Henry and Allison McCance Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School

PATRICIA DANZON, Celia Moh Professor Emeritus, the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

STEVEN GALSON, Senior Vice President, Global Regulatory Affairs and Safety, Amgen

STEPHEN MERRILL, Senior Research Fellow and Former Executive Director, Duke Law Center for Innovation Policy

JENNIFER MOORE, Executive Director, Institute for Medicaid Innovation; Research Professor, University of Michigan Medical School

JOHN NIEDERHUBER, Former Director, National Cancer Institute; Executive Vice President, Inova Health System; Chief Executive Officer, Inova Translational Medicine Institute

NEERAJ SOOD, Vice Dean for Research, Price School for Public Policy; Director of Research, Leonard D. Schaeffer Center for Health Policy and Economics, University of Southern California

REED TUCKSON, Managing Director, Tuckson Health Connections, LLC; Former Executive Vice President and Chief of Medical Affairs, UnitedHealth Group

GABE TZEGHAI, CEO, Summit Innovation Labs, LLC

For more information, please visit