News & Updates

Institute for Medicaid Innovation Announces National Advisory Board of Directors

November 21, 2016

WASHINGTON, D.C.  (November 20, 2016) – The Institute for Medicaid Innovation (IMI) is pleased to announce the appointment of its founding national advisory board of directors.  Board members include clinical, research, academic, advocacy, and private industry leaders who are dedicated to advancing innovative strategies that address complex issues in Medicaid.

IMI was founded to improve the lives of Medicaid enrollees through the development of innovative and evidenced-based models of care.  One of IMI’s hallmark initiatives is the annual best practices compendium. The compendium represents evidence-based strategies from the nation’s most successful managed care organizations in addressing critical health and social issues.  The 2016 compendium is available for download here or at the IMI website,

“I am honored to announce an advisory board of innovators and experts in the health care industry,” said IMI Executive Director Jennifer Moore, PhD, RN. “The board represents a wealth of experience and they have already been integral in allowing us to move towards fulfilling our mission to improve the lives of Medicaid enrollees.”

The IMI National Advisory Board of Directors:

John Z. Ayanian, MD, MPP
Alice Hamilton Professor of Medicine, Director, Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation,
University of Michigan; Former Associate Editor, New England Journal of Medicine

Scott Berns, MD, MPH, FAAP
President and CEO, National Institute for Children’s Health Quality (NICHQ); Clinical Professor of Pediatrics, Warren Alpert Medical School, Brown University; Clinical Professor of Health Services, Policy & Practice, Brown University School of Public Health

Judith Chamberlain, MD, FAAFP
Chair, Dissemination & Implementation Committee, Institute for Medicaid Innovation; Senior Medical Director, Aetna Medicaid

Marshall Chin, MD, MP
Richard Parrillo Family Professor of Healthcare Ethics, Department of Medicine, University of Chicago

Anne De Biasi, MHA
Director of Policy Development, Trust for America’s Health

Steve Fitton
Principal, Health Management Associates; Former Medicaid Director, State of Michigan

Rachel Garfield, PhD
Senior Researcher, Kaiser Family Foundation

Don Goldmann, MD
Chief Medical and Scientific Officer, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, Clinical Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School; Professor of Immunology and Infectious Diseases, and Epidemiology, Harvard School of Public Health

John Gore, MD
Senior Medical Director, STAR+PLUS, Cigna-Health Spring

Joan R. Harrell, DMIN, M.Div., M.S.
Associate Director, Community Engagement Core Visiting Scholar; Senior Associate Editor, Journal of Healthcare, Science and The Humanities;National Center for Bioethics in Research & Health Care, Tuskegee University

Lisa M. Hollier, MD, MPH, FACOG
Representing:  American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists, Chief Medical Officer, Obstetrics & Gynecology; Texas Children’s Health Plan Medical Director; Ob/Gyn, The Centers for Children and Women; Professor, Baylor College of Medicine

Enrique Martinez-Vidal, MPP
Vice President, State Policy and Technical Assistance, AcademyHealth

C. Daniel Mullins, PhD
Professor and Chair, Pharmaceutical Health Services Research Department, University of Maryland School of Pharmacy

Nancy O’Rourke, MSN, ACNP, ANP, FAANP
Representing:  American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, AANP Region One Director

Julia Paradise, MPH
Associate Director, Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, Kaiser Family Foundation

Kathryn Paris
Director, Thought Leadership, UnitedHealthcare Community & State

James Perrin, MD, FAAP
Representing:  American Academy of Pediatrics; Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School; John C. Robinson Chair in Pediatrics, Associate Chair, MassGeneral Hospital for Children

Erhardt H. L. Preitauer, MBA
CEO, Horizon NJ Health; Senior Vice President, Government Programs, Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey

Gloria Ramsey, JD, RN, FAAN
Associate Professor, Daniel K. Inouye Graduate School of Nursing; PhD Nursing Science Program,
School of Medicine, Department of Preventive Medicine and Biostatistics, Global Health Division;
Director, Community Research Engagement, Center for Health Disparities, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Amy Romano, MBA, MSN, CNM
Representing:  American College of Nurse-Midwives, Senior Vice President, Clinical Programs,
Baby + Company

Carol Sakala, PhD, MSPH
Director, Childbirth Connection Programs, National Partnership for Women & Families

Eric C. Schneider MD MSc
Senior Vice President, Policy and Research, The Commonwealth Fund  

Benjamin D. Sommers, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Health Policy & Economics, Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health, Brigham & Women's Hospital

Robert Wergin, MD
Representing:  American Academy of Family Physicians; Past-President, American Academy of Family Physicians; Chair, American Academy of Family Physicians


About IMI
The Institute for Medicaid Innovation focuses on providing innovative solutions that address important clinical, research, and policy issues in Medicaid through multi-stakeholder engagement, research, data analysis, education, quality improvement initiatives, and dissemination and implementation activities.  For more information, visit